How Goals Have Worked for Me

Mastermind-arEvery August for several years, my husband and I have attended a fabulous personal growth conference called Mastermind Summit, put on by Brian Buffini and Buffini & Co.  It’s in San Diego and has featured such notables as Bill Cosby and Sinbad for entertainment, and Zig Ziglar, Neil Armstrong, Lou Holtz, and Jack Canfield as speakers. 

The friends we’ve made along the way have noticed something about me:  I’m usually pregnant at this event. 

  • In 2004, I was about 36 weeks pregnant with my first. 
  • In 2005, I was pregnant with my Angel Rose, who we lost at 26 weeks.
  • In 2006, I was pregnant with our second daughter. 
  • In 2008, I was pregnant but then miscarried at 12 weeks.
  • And now in 2009, I was 29 weeks pregnant with a little girl.

It’s especially meaningful to be pregnant at Mastermind since a family goal my husband and I set was to have more children.  And Mastermind is also about trying again when you don’t succeed, and we’ve been trying!

The beauty of Mastermind is that it includes goal writing in the actual conference.  They don’t leave it up to chance that you will write goals at home.  They make you sit down and write goals in 5 important areas of life:

  • Spiritual
  • Family
  • Business
  • Financial
  • Personal

Then you write short, mid, and long range goals in each area.  10-10-10 they call it.  10 day goals, 10 month goals, and 10 year goals. 

So for example, my 10 day personal goal was to do 2 workout videos.  My 10 month goal was to lose my baby weight.  My 10 year goal was to exercise at least 2 1/2 hours each week. 

What goals can you write down today?  What do you want to accomplish in the next 10 days?  10 months?  10 years? 

Mastermind-wide

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.