Be Attractive for Him

In my podcast, “What Your Husband Needs, Part 2” I talked about the importance of being attractive for your spouse.  Sure, we want to lose the weight for ourselves, but we must recognize that our physical appearance is important to our spouses too.  My husband is not shy so he told me flat out, “It would mean a lot to me if you lost your pregnancy pounds.” 

He just told me a story yesterday of a friend who was so discouraged because his wife had not lost her pregnancy weight, and he was constantly surrounded at work by fit, attractive women.  His friend was having a hard time being attracted to his wife’s extra 25 pounds. 

Of course we want to be loved unconditionally by our spouse, but that isn’t an excuse to let our bodies go.  I love what Dr. Willard Harley says in his excellent book, “His Needs, Her Needs”:

By calling for a wife to be attractive I mean she should take pains to look something like the woman her husband married.  After all, that was the woman he fell in love with, not a movie star or some other fantasy.  Does this mean a woman must stay eternally young?  Of course not, but getting older provides no excuse for letting weight creep up and up, not fixing your hair, and dressing like a bag lady.

Today’s Action Step:  Look at a picture of you on your wedding day.  Are you in better or worse shape?  If worse, make a decision that you will get back to your pre-baby weight, for your sake AND for your husband’s.

4 Responses

  1. Always good to hear that. To remember to try to continue to look good for our man=)

  2. Excellent post. I will say that in some ways I’m in better shape even though I weigh 30 pounds more. I was 100 pounds when we got married and very straight. Two kids and 9 years later, I way 130 and am in a size 8 instead of a size 2. There is a part of me that wants to be tiny again. But my husband actually likes my current body better. He likes the curves and my muscles are more tone. So perhaps we can compromise and I can get into a 4 or 6 again. 🙂

  3. Thanks for your comment! It’s fun to make our husband’s smile isn’t it?

  4. Good points. Married 13 years ago, so it’s hard to imagine looking like that again, but it’s worth putting some effort into.

Leave a Reply

