State Fair Anyone?

Tomorrow we are going the state fair where they fry almost any food you can think of!  Years ago, when I was a teenager, I ate a ton of fried zucchini and onion rings at the fair (they’re vegetables right?).  The next day, I went to a movie.  I got sick and ended up throwing up in the bathroom.  Hope that wasn’t too much info, but needless to say, I’ve never indulged in fried foods again after that! 

When will you be walking through temptation alley next?  Hopefully you won’t have to get sick before realizing that too much of a good (tasting) thing can make you feel terrible afterwards AND gain weight in the process.  A double whammy!

Tomorrow at the fair I know I will have kettle corn which is a family favorite.  To make up for the calories, I’ll do an extra cardio workout.  Losing and gaining weight is all about math.  If you know you’re going to cheat (like at the sweet-laden, delicious fair), then plan to skimp on calories the next day and put in an extra workout. 

Today’s Action Step:  Assess your week.  Is there a day when you know you’ll be eating extra?  Maybe you’ll be going out for dinner or to a family barbeque.  Plan for damage control.  Add an extra workout to your week to make up for your cheats.  Then enjoy yourself!

 

2 Responses

  1. LOL I love the title of your blog. Isn’t that what we’re all striving for? HA HA HA! Thank goodness for breastfeeding. =)

  2. […] State Fair Anyone? Tomorrow we are going the state fair where they fry almost any food you can think of! Years ago, when I was a teenager, I ate a ton of fried zucchini and onion rings at the fair (they’re vegetables right?). … […]

Leave a Reply

