Moody!

Yes, I feel moody!  Usually I am a very upbeat and cheerful person.  But since Thursday, I have felt easily discouraged and irritable.  I told my poor husband yesterday that I basically feel sad with bursts of happiness in between! 

I looked online to comfort myself, knowing that being pregnant does weird things to your hormones.  Here’s what I found at WebMD: 

Hormones appear to play a significant role in the precipitation of emotional issues during pregnancy,” explains Geetha Shivakumar, M.D., an assistant professor in the department of psychiatry at the UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

“Common symptoms are irritability, sadness or anxiety, and they may be [more] prominent in certain months of pregnancy,” Shivakumar adds. For example, the fluctuating levels of estrogen and progesterone in your bloodstream can make you especially moody during the first trimester.

Good!  That made me feel better.  I’m not going crazy.  I just need a nap! 

 

Leave a Reply

