Rain

Yesterday when I woke up, I felt tired, headache-y, and very Eeyore like.  I dragged around the house in the morning.  My husband offered to watch the kids if I wanted to go to the gym.  I didn’t want to go but way down deep inside, knew it would be good for you.  So I went, but don’t think I’m superwoman or anything.  Since I just miscarried last week, I’m taking it easy.  I did 15 minutes on an elliptical machine and 15 minutes of light weights. 

While at the gym, I listened to a podcast by Joel Osteen, who is great to listen to if you ever feel down.  He was talking about building a rain storm of God’s blessing over your life.  How do you get God’s blessings to rain down on you?  He said that happens when you choose to praise God.  Whenever you say “thank you God,” it’s like putting water in the clouds above and after awhile the clouds can’t help but burst with blessings upon your life.  

It sure made a lot of sense to me.  Instead of thinking, “Why did I have a miscarriage?” I’m trying to think, “God thank you for the lessons you can teach me through this unborn child.”  And “Thank you for the children you’ve given” and “thank you for your love through all seasons.”  With praise, I’m finding my heart getting a little lighter each day although as I said before, I feel a lot like Eeyore these days from Winnie the Pooh. 

But guess what happened yesterday night in sunny San Diego?  It rained.  And rained.  And I smiled in my bed because I thought of that rain cloud of praise falling down on me.  God’s blessings are here and are coming in the future!

Leave a Reply

