Lose Weight in Your Own Holiday Contest

christmas-baking210Okay, let’s face it.  Thanksgiving is coming and then Christmas which means we will be gaining 1, 2, 5, 10 pounds…yipes! 

NOW is the time to have a plan to MAINTAIN your weight and maybe even lose a few pounds. 

Here’s what my family has decided to do.  Believe it or not, this was my mom’s idea and we are so proud of her for thinking of it! 

We are having a contest between my mom, my dad, my husband and myself.  Whoever gets the most points before Thanksgiving receives $100.  Here’s how to earn points everyday:

-10 points each day you exercise for 30 minutes or more
-10 points each day you skip sugar
-10 points each day you don’t eat past 6:30 p.m.

Believe it or not, this really works! It’s fun to do it as a family. This little contest has stopped me from eating that leftover Halloween candy on some days or it’s pushed me to exercise when I didn’t feel like it.

So if you want to lose some weight or just get healthier as a family, you can try a contest like this. Modify it to suit your needs and pick a prize that would be motivating.  If you go into the holidays a little leaner, it will give you more room to really enjoy that Thanksgiving feast!

Leave a Reply

