My Mom’s Easy Chicken in Black Bean Sauce

mom-and-me-350I thought it would be appropriate to start the New Year with a recipe from my mom.  My mom is an amazing cook.  Too bad that’s not something inherent in the gene pool because I don’t have the talent for cooking that she has! 

Growing up, I didn’t like Chinese food.  I liked pizza and hamburgers like the other kids.  But now, I like it just fine!

Easy Chicken in Black Bean Sauce (serves 4 people)

Cut in chunks:

  • 1 large green pepper
  • 1 large red pepper
  • 1 large white onion
  • 1 1/2 lbs boneless chicken (mom prefers dark meat)
  • 1 Tbl vegetable oil
  • 2 Tbl Black Bean Garlic Sauce (she likes the Lee Kum Lee brand)
  • 1 tsp or less sugar

Heat oil in pan or wok.  Stir fry chicken chunks with black bean sauce and sugar for about 2 minutes.  Add chunks of onion and stir for 1 minute.  Add red and green peppers during last minute of cooking. 

Serve hot over brown rice. 

Variations:  Use zucchini instead of green pepper.  Serve with noodles instead of rice.  Add hot sauce to make it spicy.

Leave a Reply

