Day 8 – Live Strong and Long

noelle-runningI was just at the doctor’s office with my 2 and 4 year old.  I love my pediatrician.  She gives such sound advice and always gives me a gentle kick in the right direction.  As usual, I’m always reminded to feed my kids more vegetables.  And this visit, I was also reminded of something else.

She asked, “Do you kids get 1 hour a day of hard exercise?”  I couldn’t say that was true every day.  Don’t get me wrong.  My kids are no couch potatoes.  In fact, we don’t get cable and only watch a 30 minute video every other day.  But I realized I’m not getting them out to the playground often enough. 

So right after the doctor’s appointment, we headed for the park for one hour.  We had races around the dirt track that surrounds the park.  We climbed, pushed, walked and slid.  And it was lots of fun!

Our kids need us to be healthy enough to be active with them.  When our kids are running, we should be running right along side of them.  I saw one family where the adults were sitting in the minivan while the kids rode around on bikes.  That’s the wrong picture.  Those adults could have been riding alongside or running alongside; not only getting exercise, but creating better memories with their kids.

So when it comes to losing weight, I think a great motivation is to be active with your kids and play alongside of them (not just watching from the sidelines!).

 What do you do with your kids to be active with them?

lwab-audio-cover-135Today’s tip is from Arlene’s audio course, Losing Weight After Baby: 31 Days to a New You.

Try it risk free and experience the breakthrough month you’ve been longing for.  It just takes five minutes a day!

Leave a Reply

