Shopping at Trader Joe’s

trader-joes-food1Do you have a Trader Joe’s grocery store in your hometown?  We love finding things at Trader Joe’s.  Yes, there are a lot of good things for you there, but there are dangerously yummy things too that aren’t “waistline” friendly (i.e. mint chip ice cream sandwiches, opera cake, and cookies of every variety). 

Today as I shopped with my 2 kids, I was very tempted to get a treat.  Maybe those dark chocolate peppermints or just a few bars of dark chocolate.  But I know I can’t handle the temptation at home to eat too many at once, so I figured I better defeat the temptation in the shopping aisles!   I was successful, and at the checkout, my son was holding the dark chocolates and saying, “Do you need to buy some of these for your friends?”  He was remembering when I bought them as gifts!  “No, I don’t need any gifts,” I said, knowing that if I took them home they would be gifts for ME!

When you’re losing weight, you must win at the grocery store.  Don’t let yourself buy those treats because YOU WILL EAT THEM!  Make a shopping list before you go and stick with it! 

A few of our Trader Joe brand faves:

  • Shredded Bite Size Wheats cereal – 1 cup, 180 cal, 10 fat cal, 5g fiber, 0g sugar, 5g protein
  • Wheat Crisps crackers – 14 crackers, 130 cal, 35 fat cal, 2g fiber, 4g sugar, 3g protein
  • Whole Wheat Tandoori Naan (flatbread) – 1 piece, 240 cal, 25 fat cal, 8g fiber, 2g sugar, 10g protein

What are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

