Welcome Baby Lucy!

Lucy-in-hospital

When a baby wants to come into the world, there is no stopping him or her! 

Two weeks before her due date, and one week before my scheduled c-section (my prior baby was delivered c-section because she was breeched), I started having contractions in the middle of the night.  Not a big deal at first since I’ve been having Braxton Hicks contractions for several weeks.

But unlike other times, these contractions were steady each hour and at 3:00 a.m., they started increasing in intensity too.  Oh boy, I thought, this could be it! 

I had just packed my hospital bag that same day and I had done my last minute shopping that same day (diapers, etc) and purchased small gifts for my kids from their new baby sister.  God knew I would be going into labor because at least those things got done!  I checked into triage at the hospital.  Yes I was having contractions and was 3 cm dilated.  Everything moved very quickly from there.  I arrived at about 4:00 am, and by 6:00 am, I was on the operating table, and by 6:44 am, I was looking at a beautiful, chalky looking, baby girl!

Lucy-and-Ar-hospital

Now the fun part I haven’t told you about is that my husband missed the birth of the baby.  No, we’re not military, but my husband flew to the East Coast for 2 days to attend his grandmother’s funeral.  We figured it was a little risky, but with the due date 2 weeks away, we thought it would all right. 

Just hours after he left, I went into labor.  I’m happy to say that God provided everything we both needed.  Peace and calm even though we were apart and the circumstances were not what we expected!  My dad came with me into the operating room and my mom watched our kids.  Everything went smoothly except of course, I missed my husband terribly in the hospital.  I stayed at the hospital for 3 days, and thankfully, my hubby made it to the hospital before I was discharged. 

Now Lucy has her own dramatic birth story!   She came into the world as my husband was saying goodbye to his 88 year old grandmother.  It is the circle of life from the cradle to the grave.  God is with us throughout the journey of life and His presence can make each moment sweet, whether in birth or death.    

Lucy-and-Noelle-hospital

Lucy-goes-home

6 Responses

  1. Congrats, Arlene! Baby Lucy looks beautiful! And you look great too! I’m sorry your husband missed the birth, but the important thing is your baby is healthy and he’s now giving you all the support you need.

    I totally agree with you, when babies want to come out, there’s no stopping them. I also have a fun story to share. My baby Adrian, 3 months old now, was also born over 2 weeks early and it all happened so fast the doctor didn’t get there in time, in fact nobody “caught” the baby during delivery, not even the nurses. I wasn’t pushing, my uterus spit him out onto the bed, thank God I wasn’t standing up!

  2. Suni,
    Thanks for the well wishes! That is amazing that your Adrian came out so quickly! You rarely hear about the baby coming out too fast and being “spit” on the bed – ha! Have fun with him!

  3. Wow Arlene your bundle is such a cutie. Unlike you ladies, my friend was waiting for 2 weeks. The little girl doesn’t wanna leave mum’s tummy. lol. Then she finally delivered her through c-section too and I rushed to the delivery room to see my future goddaughter. lol. It’s always exciting to have these additional angels.

  4. Arlene – Congratulations on your beautiful new baby girl! Lucy is gorgeous, and I love her name. Sorry that she surprised you by coming early, but sounds like you had everything under control.

    Good luck getting adjusted to life with a newborn again – I miss those days! My 3 kids are now 6, 5 and just turned 2, so I no longer have a “baby” and it makes me sad! Maybe it’s time for just one more . . .

  5. congrats on the little miracle! what a cutie! and quite a story!

  6. sweet baby :)))

Leave a Reply

