How to Keep Your Baby from Getting Sick

What do you do when your family is sick and you’ve got a newborn in the house?

Well – our baby Lucy has experienced this twice in her short 7 week life!  When we brought her home from the hospital, her dad and siblings were sick.  This week, my son had a fever, then me, then my daughter, then my husband…baby Lucy is the last one standing (or, um, laying down!).  Thankfully she’s not sick yet. 

Here’s what we’ve done so far in an attempt to keep baby from getting sick: 

  1. Hand washing.  This goes without saying.  No one touches Lucy without washing their hands.
  2. Keeping the kids at a distance from the baby. 
  3. If you’re sick, you don’t touch or get near the baby. 
  4. We avoid public crowded places.
  5. Put gloves on baby to prevent her from sucking on all those germs.

Then, we found out my husband and I have bronchitis.  My dad who is a family physician suggested keeping Lucy in her room so she’s not exposed to all the germs in the air from coughing etc.  So for 2 days now, she’s in her room exclusively.  Before going in to feed her and play with her, I wash my hands and put on a mask. 

Her bouncy chair and activity mat are in there now, and the quarantine seems to be working all right.  I figure at 7 weeks, she won’t remember the boredom and isolation of being in her room.  🙂 

I hope to be able to say that she will stay healthy all this week.  Praying for it!

Leave a Reply

