Atkins is Working for Me!

I was looking at my blog posts dated Jan 2 and Jan 18.  I weighed in at 149 and 150 lbs.  I’ve been losing weight slowly by exercising 6 days a week and practicing portion control.  But I have been having too many treats, I must admit!  I’ve been hovering around 146/147 for awhile now. 

So this week, I decided to try Atkins for a short period of time.  It took me a long time to make this decision because I love my carbs from pasta, cereal, oatmeal, and of course those occasional cakes, chocolates and ice cream.  I knew if I was doing Atkins, I couldn’t cheat because that would really mess me up!  You can’t eat fat AND carbs without gaining some serious weight!

My husband had been encouraging me to do Atkins because I have lost weight with that successfully in the past, but I just wasn’t ready to give up my weekly splurge of ice cream or cake.  But this week, I decided to do Atkins for one month to see how much I can lose.

I started on Tuesday and I’m so excited to say it’s working wonderfully!  I’m surprised in fact how well it’s working for me.

  • Tuesday:  146 lbs
  • Wednesday: 145 lbs
  • Thursday: 144 lbs
  • Friday: 144 lbs
  • Saturday: 143.5 lbs

I can’t say these results are typical, but this is what I am experiencing.  I think my body needed a change and by skipping carbs, I’m burning fat, fat, fat!   

Tomorrow, I’ll give you a run down of what I’m eating.  I’m aiming for about 20-30 net carbs a day.

One Response

  1. Congrats on your success! While I was reading your post, I was eating a Yoplait yogurt. I realized that it had 33 grams of carbs…I blew past you in daily carb-counting by just one snack! Keep us posted on your Atkins month.

Leave a Reply

