Atkins Diet: My Typical Menu

While doing Atkins, you limit and count your carbs.  For instance, if a tablespoon of peanut butter is 7 grams of carbs and 1 grams of fiber, that counts as 6 net carbs.  You subtract the fiber from the carbs, so the more fiber something has, the better. 

I like Atkins because I like what you can eat 🙂  Here’s a typical menu for me:

Breakfast:  2 eggs and 1 sausage patty

Snack: cup of coffee (no sugar), 7 walnuts, slice of cheddar cheese

Lunch:  Green peppers filled with blue cheese and a little Ranch dressing, cup of chicken soup (plain broth), turkey slices

Snack: cup of cottage cheese with cinnamon, Atkins indulge bar

Dinner:  tilapia, green salad, chocolate protein shake

While I’m doing Atkins, it much easier to pass on dessert at parties because I am making progress and I don’t want to mess that up.  Plus I know it’s short term so I can handle skipping some fave things for a time.

Success and self discipline is doing what you don’t want to do, when you don’t want to do it.  So later on, you can do what you want to do, when you want to do it.

Leave a Reply

