Atkins: Down Days and Up Days

When you’re losing weight, diets are fun (at least you’re seeing results and you’ve got momentum!).  When the scale doesn’t move or worse – when it goes in the wrong direction – how do you feel?  Discouraged, frustrated, blaise, and of course, hungry!  🙂

Just so you know I’m normal, I am not losing weight every single day on my Atkins diet.  In fact, a few days ago I got really close to beating my husband to our goal (biggest loser challenge: who can lose 10 pounds first) but then I gained a pound the next day.  Ug! 

When you’re losing weight, you’ve got to keep a long term perspective.  The scale might go up one day but over a two week period, you might lose 3 pounds.  That’s a victory to celebrate!

Today I weighed in at 142 lbs.  Earlier this week, I got as low as 140.9 lbs, so of course when I saw the scale this morning, I sighed.  BUT last Saturday, I weighed 143.5 lbs so I am moving in the right direction! 

I must admit when the scale is moving downward, I feel optimistic.  Unfortunately the opposite is true as well.  I have to remind myself that as long as I’m moving in the right direction overall, it’s going to work out great!

Leave a Reply

