Atkins: Keep a Food Journal

Keeping a food journal really helps to identify what is going on with your diet.  By writing down your breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks, you are mindful of what is going in your mouth.  Without it, you can be snacking, munching, grazing all day long without really realizing how many calories you’re eating.  And many times those calories are hardly nutritious. 

You can buy a food journal, or simply use a spiral notepad or other pad of paper.  You can write it down with a pen or go online and log into a food journal.  I like to leave my paper food journal on the kitchen island and jot down what I eat there. 

Somedays, I don’t get to it right away.  Like right now, it’s mid-morning and I haven’t written anything down.  After typing this blog, I’ll write down:

  • Cottage cheese
  • Handful of walnuts
  • Spoonful of peanut butter

Get in the habit of writing down what you eat when you want/need an extra push to lose weight.  The accountability is enlightening and helpful! 

If you want a free sample of a one page food journal you can print out, feel free to request it by emailing me at arlene@losingweightafterbaby.com

2 Responses

  1. I agree totally with you. I keep a food diary also it helps keep me on track and I can see the days where I stray from my diet.

  2. Yes it helps a lot! Thanks Marisa!

Leave a Reply

