My Kid’s Broken Leg

Well I haven’t blogged for awhile because it’s been a bit busy in our household!  My 5 year old son broke his leg on a bike!  He has been quite a trooper but of course there are days when he cries, “I wish I never broke my leg!  It’s so boring!”

Now we have two strollers when we go out – one for the baby and one for Ethan.  Five year olds using crutches move pretty slow so the stroller has come in handy. 

He has a transverse fracture on his leg and should have his cast on for 6 weeks.  He’s a 50+ lb weight, so I guess moving him around has been good for losing weight.  The good news is we went to Disneyland BEFORE he broke his leg, it’s warming up so he can wear shorts, and he’ll have the cast off before it gets really hot in the summer.  God is good. 

I gave Ethan this talk about how bad things can bring out the best or worst in people.  I told him it had brought out the best in him.  He nodded and said “thanks mom” in a very grown up way 🙂

P.S.  The cast is dinosaurs so that has been a life saver!

Leave a Reply

