Our First Camping Trip

Did you grow up camping?

For me, the answer is definitely no.  My first camping trip EVER was when James and I were first married in 1999.  Let’s just say I cried a lot.  I’ve matured and toughened up a bit since then (thanks you dear), so I embarked on our first ever camping trip with the kids (ages 3 and 5) with a smile on my face.

The bad part: The mosquitoes were having a convention and we were the honored guests.  Our tent is pretty small (see above).  Going to the bathroom in the middle of the night is really a nuisance.

The good part: The kids had a blast.  We camped with friends and it was great to catch up.  Smores.  Fun hikes.

So overall, I give our camping trip to Palomar Mountain, CA a thumbs up.  Oh by the way, we left baby Lucy home with my parents which I think was a stroke of genius.  She was safe from the bugs, and I didn’t have to pack the kitchen sink.

Camping is a great memory maker for families.  And the way I look at it, hiking cancels out eating smores.

Leave a Reply

