Baby Eatin’ Time!

Lucy LOVES to eat!  Who doesn’t?  Here she is having a puree of assorted fruits.  I take whatever I have on hand – for instance peaches, plum, grapes, green beans – and I blend it all in my beloved Vita-Mix.  The Vita-Mix is totally a worthwhile purchase by the way.  We got ours at the Del Mar Fair years ago – it was about a $400 investment at the time – and we have used it so much.

I blend up the food for Lucy and then I just pour it into an ice cube tray.  Then voila!  Whenever I need something to eat, I just pop out 2 cubes and pop them in the microwave, or if I’m really organized, I put them in the refrigerator the day before.  It’s funny – I had so many of these ice cube trays for my firstborn Ethan.  I think when I opened the freezer back then, it was lined with frozen fresh baby food.  But 6 years have passed since then, and there’s only room for 2 trays in the freezer for Lucy.

This is an easy, healthy, cheap way to do baby food.  I use store bought baby food when I got out during meals, but otherwise, she eats these cubes or rice cereal.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

