My Boy’s First Day in Kindergarten

Ethan-first-day-school-w-meWell, I have done it.  I’ve experienced a rite of passage for moms – the day the firstborn goes to kindergarten!  I am so happy that my son was very excited.  Walking to the classroom, I said, “This is so exciting!” (even if I didn’t feel that 100%) and he replied, “It’s even more exciting for me!”  I know it’s helping that he’s getting Hot Wheels cars at the end of the week if he does well.  He is totally motivated by rewards.

We decided to try a dual immersion program which means he will be taught primarily in Spanish.  Since we’re not Spanish speakers, this is a big and exciting step.  I know a year from now he will understand so much Spanish and that’s a wonderful asset.

But for now, he didn’t understand  a whole lot (and neither did his classmates) but that will change in time.  Those strange words will begin to make sense very soon.

It reminds me of when we want to try a new way of eating or exercising.  At first, we’re not very comfortable and feel out of our comfort zones.  But if we persevere in time, those new things will become second nature to us. 

Ethan-school-class

So don’t give up moms – stay in the “losing weight after baby” classroom and reward yourself along the way to keep you motivated (Hot Wheels cars are good – no calories in those!).